India

DON BOSCO INITIATIVES IN THE CITY OF VADODARA

Regarding the projects “Open Shelter” and “House of Love” Mix for Kids cooperates with the non-profit organisation “Die Sternsinger” to support Don Bosco projects in Vadodara. The ”Sternsinger” subsidize our funding to guarantee an annual minimum amount and then ensure that our donations get to the right places.

First contact and open shelter groups

In India there are about 10 million street children, girls and boys who grow up without parents.

Some of them may have a home, but don’t want to go back there. Most of them come from broken families living in extreme poverty. Alcohol, violence and abuse are commonplace.

The Don Bosco brothers establish initial contact with the children and teenagers on the streets, at bus stops, railway stations and markets. This first encounter is reinforced by regular visits, because regular contact helps to shed fears and gain trust.

Children and young people receive support and are given the opportunity to come to Don Bosco open shelters, which are open communal facilities, i.e. children can come and go as they please. Shelter workers show the children that they are their friends and that their help is unconditional. The children get something to eat and can wash up and do laundry. Games, fun and support during learning are part of the program, as are hygiene training and psychological counselling.

Orphanage “House of Love“

Selected boys from the region are invited to live in the Don Bosco Centre, also called the “House of Love”. It is up to the boys to decide whether they want to stay or not. Currently, the Don Bosco Centre Snehalaya is home to 106 boys aged between 6-18. But the Don Bosco brothers do much more: they give the children loving care, convey values and offer holistic education, i.e. they help with learning, motivate the children to play team sports, paint, dance and pursue other activities. They also promote the spiritual development of children without religious dogmas, help them develop a sense of community, closeness to nature, domestic skills and offer support with career choices and vocational training.

Our current donation amount funds the livelihood of 15 boys for one year.

Traditional Indian spice blends – a way out of poverty

Through decades of working with people in need, the Don Bosco organisation has found that supporting mothers is an effective way to support children and teenagers. We agree with Don Bosco that the support and help to self-determination of mothers is an important part of providing help to children.

For many years Don Bosco has organised and developed self-help groups in the slums and villages of India. Mix for Kids supports a project in Vadodara in which a group of women are involved in the production and marketing of regional spice blends.

The concept has already been successfully tested in other regions. In addition to hygiene training, the women receive training in regional spices and their processing as well as basic commercial knowledge.

DON BOSCO INITIATIVES IN THE CITY OF CHOTTA UDAIPUR

The charity organization “DON BOSCO MONDO“ developed with us and our Don Bosco partners in Chotta Udaipur the following program and channels our funds to the right places.

Disadvantaged children gain trust and confidence in sporting competition

Since 2000, sport is a top priority at the Don Bosco School. The disadvantaged Adivasi boys and girls have great sporting ambitions. Supervised by professional athletes, they frequently manage to win national competitions for themselves and for the school.

Holistic pedagogy and sporting successes may also pave the way for their future and into various jobs, e.g. in the defence services, police force or railways.

Characteristics of the sports-based approach to individual and community support are:

  • Increased interaction and participation
  • Experience of equality and teamwork
  • Physical activity providing fun and a learning effect
  • Health improvement
  • Increased self-motivation
  • Assertiveness

IMPROVING THE QUALITY OF LIFE THROUGH ALTERNATIVE ECOLOGICAL CULTIVATION IN A VILLAGE OF THE ADIVASI (=TRIBAL PEOPLES, INDIGENOUS PEOPLE)

In the Chota Udaipur region, Don Bosco has been working for years with particularly disadvantaged groups of the Rathwa Adivasi. These peoples, who until now have been culturally and economically dependent on forests for their daily livelihood, suffer from the depletion of forest resources and displacement from their original habitat. The Rathwa Adivasi find themselves in a threatening situation due to a lack of knowledge about agricultural practice and employment opportunities in the changed life situation. In view of the somewhat dramatic effects of climate change on conventional agricultural production in Gujarat, combined with low market prices for their products, traditional knowledge cannot be applied and new approaches must be taken.

Don Bosco Chhota Udaipur – supported by Don Bosco Mondo and the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) – is actively committed to promoting sustainable agriculture with the goal to increase agricultural productivity through alternative methods.

The goal is to put an end to conventional industrial production, which was mostly based on monocultures of GMO cash crops (GMO = genetically modified organism, e.g. maize) and depended on the use of large quantities of pesticides and synthetic fertilizers.

Instead, Don Bosco vision for the future is small-scale, sustainable and regenerative mixed cultures. This would make it possible to grow various food crops such as eggplants, chilis, tomatoes and water melons at the same time and harvest them within one seasonal period. Pesticides and fertilizers are produced organically according to traditional recipes.

This path to food security through self-sufficiency, in conjunction with access to education and team sports, should offer the tribal young in particular the opportunity to find themselves worthy, assertive and lawful in this new life situation.

Background information about the Adivasis

Indien2018-10-08T11:35:20+02:00

Indien

DON BOSCO INITIATIVEN IN DER STADT VADODARA

Mix for Kids kooperiert bei den Projekten „Open Shelter“ und „Haus der Liebe“ mit der gemeinnützigen Organisation „Die Sternsinger“, um Don Bosco Projekte in Vadodara zu fördern. Die Sternsinger bezuschussen unsere Fördergelder, damit ein jährlicher Mindestbetrag garantiert werden kann, und stellen anschließend sicher, dass unsere Spenden an der richtigen Stelle ankommen.

Erstkontakt und Open Shelter Gruppen

In Indien gibt es ca. 10 Mio. Straßenkinder, Mädchen und Jungen, die ohne Eltern aufwachsen.

Sie haben zwar manchmal ein Zuhause, wollen aber nicht dorthin zurück. Die meisten kommen aus zerrütteten Familien, die in nackter Armut leben. Alkohol, Gewalt und Missbrauch sind an der Tagesordnung.

Die Don Bosco Brüder stellen auf den Straßen, Bushaltestellen, Bahnhöfen und Märkten einen Erstkontakt zu den Kindern und Jugendlichen her. Diese erste Begegnung wird durch regelmäßige Besuche verstärkt, denn regelmäßiger Kontakt hilft Ängste abzulegen und Vertrauen zu gewinnen.

Kinder und Jugendliche erhalten Unterstützung und die Möglichkeit, in sogenannte Open Shelter zu kommen. Don Bosco Shelter sind offene Gemeinschaftseinrichtungen, d.h. die Kinder können kommen und gehen, wann sie möchten. Die Mitarbeiter zeigen den Kindern, dass sie ihre Freunde sind, Hilfe ist nicht an Bedingungen geknüpft. Die Kinder können sich waschen, erhalten etwas zu Essen und können die Möglichkeit nutzen, ihre Kleidung zu waschen und zu trocknen. Spiel, Spaß und Unterstützung beim Lernen stehen ebenso auf dem Programm, wie Hygienetraining und psychologische Betreuung.

Waisenhaus „Haus der Liebe“

Ausgewählte Jungen aus der Region werden eingeladen im Don Bosco Zentrum Snehalaya, auch „Haus der Liebe“ genannt, zu leben. Sie entscheiden selbst, ob sie dort bleiben möchten, oder nicht. Das Don Bosco Zentrum Snehalaya gibt derzeit 106 Jungen im Alter von 6-18 Jahren ein Heim. Aber die Don Bosco Brüder leisten viel mehr: Sie geben den Kindern liebevolle Zuwendung, vermitteln Werte und bieten ganzheitliche Bildung, d.h. sie helfen beim Lernen, motivieren die Kinder zu Teamsport, Malen, Tanzen u.v.m. Sie fördern auch die spirituelle Entwicklung der Kinder ohne religiöse Dogmen, entwickeln Gemeinschaftssinn, Naturverbundenheit, häusliche Fähigkeiten und helfen bei Berufswahl und Berufsausbildung.

Mit der derzeitigen Spendensumme schaffen wir es, den Lebensunterhalt für 15 Jungen für ein Jahr zu finanzieren.

Traditionelle indische Gewürzmischungen – ein Weg aus der Armut

Die Organisation Don Bosco hat in jahrzehntelanger Zusammenarbeit mit benachteiligten Menschen herausgefunden, dass ein effektiver Weg um Kinder und Jugendliche zu fördern, die Unterstützung von Müttern ist. Wir stimmen mit Don Bosco überein, dass die Förderung und Hilfe zur Selbstbestimmung der Mütter ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Hilfe für die Kinder ist.

Seit vielen Jahren organisiert und entwickelt Don Bosco Selbsthilfegruppen in den Slums und Dörfern Indiens. Mix für Kids unterstützt ein Projekt in Vadodara, bei dem eine Gruppe Frauen sich mit der Herstellung und Vermarktung regionaltypischer Gewürzmischungen beschäftigt.

Das Konzept wurde bereits in anderen Regionen erfolgreich erprobt. Neben Hygienetraining, einer Ausbildung zu regionalen Gewürzen und deren Verarbeitung, wird auch kaufmännisches Grundwissen vermittelt.

DON BOSCO INITIATIVEN IN DER STADT CHOTTA UDAIPUR

Die Hilfsorganisation „DON BOSCO MONDO e. V.“ hat mit uns und unseren Don Bosco Partnern in Chotta Udaipur das folgende Programm entwickelt und kanalisiert unsere Gelder an die richtigen Stellen.

Benachteiligte Kinder gewinnen im sportlichen Wettkampf an Vertrauen und Zuversicht

Seit dem Jahr 2000 gibt es eine intensive Sportförderung an der Don Bosco Schule. Die armen Adivasi-Jungen und -Mädchen haben großen sportlichen Ehrgeiz. Betreut von Profisportlern gelingt es ihnen immer wieder, für sich selbst und für die Schule nationale Wettkämpfe zu gewinnen.

Die ganzheitliche Pädagogik und sportliche Erfolge ebnen auch den Weg in die Zukunft und in diverse Jobs, z.B. in den Verteidigungsdiensten, der Polizei und den Eisenbahnen.

  • verstärkte Interaktion und Beteiligung
  • Erfahrung von Gleichheit und Teamwork
  • körperliche Betätigung mit Spaß und Lerneffekt
  • Verbesserung der Gesundheit
  • erhöhte Selbstmotivation
  • Durchsetzungsvermögen

VERBESSERUNG DER LEBENSQUALITÄT DURCH ALTERNATIVEN ÖKOLOGISCHEN ANBAU
IN EINEM DORF DER ADIVASI (=STAMMESVÖLKER, UREINWOHNER)

In der Region um Chota Udaipur arbeitet Don Bosco seit Jahren mit besonders benachteiligten Gruppen der Rathwa Adivasi zusammen. Diese Völker, die für ihren täglichen Lebensunterhalt bisher kulturell und ökonomisch vom Wald abhängig waren, leiden unter der Erschöpfung der Waldressourcen und Vertreibung aus ihren ursprünglichen Lebensraum. Das fehlende Wissen über landwirtschaftliche Praxis und Erwerbsmöglichkeiten in der veränderten Lebenssituation bringen die Rathwa Adivasi in eine Existenz bedrohende Lage. Angesichts der z. T. in Gujarat dramatischen Folgen des Klimawandels für die konventionelle Agrarproduktion, verbunden mit niedrigen Marktpreisen für deren Erzeugnisse ist das traditionelle Wissen nicht anwendbar und neue Wege müssen beschritten werden.

Don Bosco Chhota Udaipur engagiert sich – unterstützt von Don Bosco Mondo und dem Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) – aktiv für eine nachhaltige Agrarwirtschaft und will die landwirtschaftliche Produktivität durch alternative Methoden erhöhen.

Die konventionelle industrielle Produktion, die zumeist auf Monokulturen von GVO Cash Crops (GVO = Gentechnisch veränderter Organismus, z.B. Mais) basierte und vom Einsatz einer großen Menge von Pestiziden und synthetischen Düngern abhing, soll der Vergangenheit angehören.

Die Zukunft sieht Don Bosco stattdessen in kleinflächigen, nachhaltigen und regenerativen Mischkulturen. So können diverse Food Crops wie z.B. Auberginen, Chili, Tomaten und Wassermelonen gleichzeitig angebaut und in einer Saison geerntet werden. Pestizide und Dünger werden nach traditionellen Rezepten organisch hergestellt.

Dieser Weg zu einer Ernährungssicherheit durch Selbstversorgung, in Verbindung mit Zugang zu Bildung und Teamsport, soll insbesondere der Stammesjungend die Möglichkeit bieten, sich in dieser neuen Lebenssituation würdig, durchsetzungsfähig und rechtmäßig wiederzufinden.

Hintergrundinformationen zu den Adivasi