Albania

A haven for children

The mountains of Albania are home to a great many of medicinal and culinary plants – but they cannot alleviate the prevailing lack of education. Here in the countryside there are no schools, whole villages are deserted. Many families are drawn to the big cities in search of work and a better life, mostly without success. About 60 percent of the population live below the poverty line. This makes Albania one of the poorest countries in Europe. The suffering ones are always the children and teenagers, the ones who suffer most are the girls. They have to help with the household and the harvest and cannot go to school.

Mix for Kids wants to give these children from the rural mountain regions of Albania an opportunity for education. With this in mind we have been supporting the Don Bosco Centre in Shkodra since 2018. In the fifth largest city in the country, the Don Bosco sisters have been running a kindergarten, a primary school and a secondary school since 1992. All children are welcome here: no matter whether girl or boy, from the city or the country side, disabled or mentally retarded – they play together, laugh, sing, do sports and learn. The Don Bosco sisters lovingly and professionally accompany their protégés into an independent and dignified life.

Mix for Kids wants to help the teenagers from the mountain villages in particular. Together with Don Bosco Mondo e.V., we finance complete scholarships for the school of the Don Bosco sisters on the one hand and on the other hand support further families who otherwise would not be able to pay for the school themselves.

Albanien2019-01-16T10:10:51+02:00

Albanien

Eine Oase für Kinder

In den Bergen Albaniens gedeihen außerordentlich viele Arznei- und Gewürzpflanzen – doch den herrschenden Bildungsmangel können sie nicht lindern. Hier auf dem Land fehlt es an Schulen, ganze Dörfer sind verwaist. Denn viele Familien zieht es auf der Suche nach Arbeit und einem besseren Leben in die großen Städte, meist ohne Erfolg. Etwa 60 Prozent der Bevölkerung lebt unter der Armutsgrenze. Damit gehört Albanien zu den ärmsten Ländern Europas. Die Leidtragenden sind dabei immer die Kinder und Jugendlichen, vor allem die Mädchen. Sie müssen im Haushalt und bei der Ernte helfen und können nicht zur Schule gehen.

Mix for Kids will diesen Kindern aus den ländlichen Bergregionen Albaniens die Chance auf Bildung geben. Deswegen unterstützen wir seit 2018 das Don-Bosco-Zentrum in Shkodra. In der fünftgrößten Stadt des Landes betreiben die Don-Bosco-Schwestern seit 1992 einen Kindergarten, eine Grundschule und eine weiterführende Schule. Hier sind alle Kinder willkommen: Egal ob Mädchen oder Junge, aus der Stadt oder vom Land, körperlich oder geistig behindert – es wird miteinander gespielt, gelacht, gesungen, Sport getrieben und gelernt. Liebevoll und fachmännisch begleiten die Don-Bosco-Schwestern ihre Schützlinge in ein selbständiges und würdevolles Leben.

Mix for Kids möchte vor allem den Jugendlichen aus den Bergdörfern helfen. Gemeinsam mit Don Bosco Mondo e.V. finanzieren wir daher zum einen komplette Stipendien für die Schule der Don-Bosco-Schwestern und helfen anderen Familien, die die Schule sonst nicht bezahlen können.